Written by Upstox Desk
6 min read | Updated on October 01, 2025, 15:45 IST
What is Churn Rate?
What is the meaning of customer Churn Rate?
How to calculate the customer churn rate?
What is Revenue Churn Rate?
How to calculate the revenue churn rate?
How to reduce the customer churn rate?
Why knowing the churn rate is essential for your business?
Statistics related to churn rate of app-based business
Conclusion
Upstox is a leading Indian financial services company that offers online trading and investment services in stocks, commodities, currencies, mutual funds, and more. Founded in 2009 and headquartered in Mumbai, Upstox is backed by prominent investors including Ratan Tata, Tiger Global, and Kalaari Capital. It operates under RKSV Securities and is registered with SEBI, NSE, BSE, and other regulatory bodies, ensuring secure and compliant trading experiences.
Every business acquires and loses customers regularly, which has nothing to do with the quality of the products or services offered, as having a basic churn rate is natural for every business. However, the lower the churn rate is, the higher would be the number of customers retained by the business.
An easy example would be online businesses that sell their services or products through mobile-based applications. While you can see millions of downloads of the app, the retention of users is low in the case of these app-based businesses.
In this article, you will read about the following:
The churn rate meaning can be defined as the rate of customers leaving a business or withdrawing from using the products or services of a business. Churn rate is often referred to as attrition rate or customer churn as well. Let's understand this with an example. Suppose you have a business selling garments online, and you have designed an application for the same. Now, you see ten people downloaded your app on a fine Monday, but by the end of the day, six people deleted their account from the application, and two new people opened an account on your application. When expressed as a percentage, this can answer your question: What is the churn rate?
Now there can be different churn rates – customer churn rate, revenue churn rate, app churn rate and others. Here you will mainly learn about customer and revenue churn rates.
Customer churn rate is a natural process of getting and losing clients/ customers in a business. Every business experiences churning irrespective of the kind of products/ services or quality of the same they offer.
The customer churn rate formula can be stated as
Customer Churn rate = (Customers at the beginning of the month – customers at the end of the month) /customers at the beginning of the month
So, for instance, you had 100 customers at the beginning of December 2022, and at the end of this month, the number of customers you have is 90. So, the customer churn rate will be
= (100-90)/100 = 10%
Now the revenue churn rate meaning can be stated as the loss or addition of revenue due to a change in the number of customers. A business's financial performance depends on the revenue churn rate to quite some extent. The lower the revenue churn rate is, the better it is for the business's growth.
To calculate the revenue churn rate, you need to apply the churn rate formula using the monthly recurring revenue (MRR) which has been lost in that month and then deduct any additional revenue from existing customers and then divide the resultant figure by the MRR.
So, for instance, at the beginning of December 2022, your MRR was ₹500000, and at the end of the month, it stood at ₹400000. Existing customers upgraded to premium features which added ₹50000 to the revenue. So, the revenue churn rate would be
= {(500000-400000)-50000}/500000
= 10%
So this means there is an overall 10% loss in the monthly revenues of the business.
If you get a negative churn rate, then it is a good sign for the business, as that would mean growth in the overall revenue.
Every business wants to reduce its churn rates, and here are five ways to do the same:
Understanding the churn rate is essential as it offers:
Now you may wonder how much churn rate is normal for your business or what a fair churn rate is. If we talk about app-based businesses, the churn rate is around 3.7% for a tenure of 30 days. So, if 1000 people download an app on their iOS or Android smartphone, only 37 people will retain the app after 30 days. So, it varies from one industry to another.
The lower the churn rate, the better it is for the businesses, and if the churn rate can be negative, then nothing like it. So, if your business is churning a lot of customers, it's time to reevaluate your marketing strategies and focus on retaining the customers for a longer tenure.
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Upstox Desk
Upstox Desk
Team of expert writers dedicated to providing insightful and comprehensive coverage on stock markets, economic trends, commodities, business developments, and personal finance. With a passion for delivering valuable information, the team strives to keep readers informed about the latest trends and developments in the financial world.
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